College of Education > Student Resources > Academic Advising > Content Area Advising

Content Area Advising

​​Content Areas are the main subject areas for Secondary and World Language majors in the Teacher Education programs. It is both a licensure and degree requirement. Graduate students must consult with their Content Area Advisors for a transcript review to determine if deficiencies exist in their content area and if additional coursework is needed. Content area courses must be completed before student teaching.  

Licensure Requirements are subject to change for the discretion of the Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE).

Secondary Education Content Advisors:

Biology Chris Worthman
773-325-4690
cworthma@depaul.edu
Chemistry Chris Worthman
773-325-4690
cworthma@depaul.edu
Physics Chris Worthman
773-325-4690
cworthma@depaul.edu


English

Chris Worthman (00-50)* 773-325-4690
cworthma@depaul.edu
Eric Selinger (51-99)* 773-325-4475
eselinge@depaul.edu
Environmental
Science
Chris Worthman
773-325-4690
cworthma@depaul.edu
History & Social Science Hilary Con​klin
​773-325-2595
hconkli1@depaul.edu
Mathematics
Stephanie Berryhill
773-325-4692
sberryhi@depaul.edu
Visual Art Jim Duignan 773-325-4331
jduignan@depaul.edu

*Students are assigned a Content Advisor based on the last 2 digits of their student ID number. 


World Language Education Content Advisors:
Arabic  Nesreen Akhtarkhavari 773-325-8639
nakhtark@depaul.edu 

Chinese  Li Jin  773-325-1882
lijin2@depaul.edu
French  Polly Mangerson 773-325-2916
polly.mangerson@depaul.edu
German Anna Souchuk 773-325-2071
asouchuk@depaul.edu
Italian Caterina Mongiat-Farina 773-325-1885
cmongiat@depaul.edu
Japanese  Nobuko Chikamatsu  773-325-1868
nchikama@depaul.edu 
Spanish  Glen Carman 773-325-1869
gcarman@depaul.edu


Middle Grades Content Advisors:
Language Arts Chris Worthman 773-325-4690
cworthma@depaul.edu
Math Stephanie Berryhill
773-325-4692
sberryhi@depaul.edu​
Science Chris Worthman
773-325-4690
cworthma@depaul.edu
Social Science Hillary Conklin 773-325-2595
hconkli@depaul.edu

Counseling Faculty Advisors:
College Counseling and
Student Affairs
Jennifer Cannon
773-325-4031
j.cannon@depaul.edu
Clinical Mental Health
Counseling
Darrick Tovar-Murray
773-325-1672
dtovarmu@depaul.edu​
Clinical Mental Health
Counseling

Miranda Parries
773-325-7070
mparries@depaul.edu
School Counseling
Rebecca Michel
773-325-0756
rebecca.michel@depaul.edu