College of Education > About > College News & Features > Honors Convocation 2022

Honors Convocation 2022

Audience members at convocation
Honors Convocation, held in the Lincoln Park Student Center on June 9. 2022, gathered over 275 people to celebrate our graduating College of Education students with high distinction. We had 62 qualifying undergraduate students, 143 qualifying graduate students, and 35 students completing their doctoral degrees who were presented with honors cords and certificates of distinction during the event’s ceremony.

Additionally, four 2022 Celebrating Teachers Awards winners were honored during the ceremony, as listed: Asa Gordon nominated by student Rita Rodriguez, Cheryl Janusz nominated by student Mahum Inaba Ahmed, Maria Cecelia Borrero nominated by student Daniela Tovar, and the late Stephen Johnson nominated byCSH student .

Finally, seven end-of-year Special Awards winners were called to stage and presented with their awards: The Jerry and Katherine Christensen Scholarship Award presented to April Greer​,  The Nicholls Family Scholarship Award presented to Lucas Osselaer, The Dr. Andrew T. Kopan Senior Leadership Award presented to Brian Howard, The Donald A. and Margaret Millette Scholarship Award presented to Cameron Leflore, the Barbara A. Sizemore Multicultural Urban Professional Educator Award presented to Krystal Guillen, the Charles Doyle Service Award presented to Anna Siewers, and the Gerald Foster Memorial Science Education Award presented to Ellen Sudeikis.

Thank you to all the College of Education faculty and staff who worked to make the first Honors Convocation back in-person since 2019 a success, and thanks to those who came to support our graduating students, Special Awards winners, and Celebrating Teachers guests! ​